Karajan, Herbert von

Brahms, Bruckner, Wagner, R. Strauss & Sibelius(1970 - 1981)

6 Compact Disc
30 Jun 2014

Barcode: 0825646336227

Other participants: Herbert von Karajan, Berliner Philharmoniker, Brahms, Bruckner, Wagner, R. Strauss, Sibelius.

The Herbert von Karajan Collection is a series of 13 box sets containing official remasterings of the finest recordings he made for EMI between 1946 and 1984. With a prime emphasis on Wagner, Bruckner and Strauss, this set exemplifies Karajan’s mastery of the expansive forms and extensive forces of high and late Romanticism. Strauss’ Ein Heldenleben, in particular, can perhaps be viewed as the conductor’s personal manifesto.