Pluhar, Christina

Händel Goes Wild

1 Sep 2017

Barcode: 0190295811693

Other participants: L'Arpeggiata, Nuria Rial,
Valer Sabadus, Gianluigi Trovesi

With Händel Goes Wild Christina Pluhar and her ensemble L’Arpeggiata once again embark on some musical time travel, this time in the company of soprano Nuria Rial, countertenor Valer Sabadus and jazz clarinettist Gianluigi Trovesi. The album features sumptuously reimagined versions of some of Handel’s most celebrated operatic arias. “All baroque composers used strict forms,” explains Christina Pluhar, “but those forms would also allow the singers and musicians to improvise and add ornament freely.” Highlighting the composer’s dynamism and temperament, she says: “Händel must have been pretty wild himself.”

George Friderich Händel now joins Purcell, Monteverdi and Cavalli on the list of composers who have inspired an album by Christina Pluhar and her ensemble L’Arpeggiata. The title of this new album refers first and foremost to the imaginative treatment his music receives from L’Arpeggiata, but Christina Pluhar reminds us that “Händel must have been pretty wild himself,” quoting this famous anecdote: “At a rehearsal for his opera Ottone, when the celebrated soprano Francesca Cuzzoni refused to sing the aria ‘Falsa immagine’, he became so furious that he grabbed her round the waist and threatened to throw her out of the window.”

Fortunately, the ‘wildness’ on this album is purely pleasurable. Händel Goes Wild is in the beguiling vein of Music For A While – Improvisations on Henry Purcell, released by L’Arpeggiata on Erato in 2014. Praising that album, BBC Music Magazine wrote: “Long experienced in fusing Baroque with jazz-inspired performance styles, L'Arpeggiata's approach breathes new life into the Restoration composer, whose ground basses are akin to riffs, his melodies folk-like in their raw simplicity... Baroque instruments and a jazz-style combo mix to intriguing effect.”

Audio sample & Tracklisting

Disc 1 
01 Handel / Arr Pluhar: Alcina, HWV 34, Act 3: Sinfonia (Arr. Pluhar)  - Christina Pluhar 
02 Handel / Arr Pluhar: Rinaldo, HWV 7b, Act 1: "Venti, turbini" (Rinaldo) [Arr. Pluhar]  - Christina Pluhar 
03 Handel / Arr Pluhar: Semele, HWV 58, Act 2: "O sleep, why dost thou leave me" (Semele) [Arr. Pluhar]  - Christina Pluhar 
04 Vivaldi / Arr Pluhar: Improvisation on Concerto for Strings in G Minor, RV 157: I. Allegro (Arr. Pluhar)  - Christina Pluhar 
05 Handel: Rinaldo, HWV 7b, Act 1: "Cara sposa" (Rinaldo)  - Christina Pluhar 
06 Handel / Arr Pluhar: Semele, HWV 58, Act 2: "Where'er you walk" (Semele) [Arr. Pluhar]  - Christina Pluhar 
07 Handel / Arr Pluhar: Solomon, HWV 67, Act 3: The Arrival of the Queen of Sheba (Arr. Pluhar)  - Christina Pluhar 
08 Handel / Arr Pluhar: Amadigi di Gaula, HWV 11, Act 2: "Pena tiranna" (Dardano) [Arr. Pluhar]  - Christina Pluhar 
09 Handel / Arr Pluhar: Giulio Cesare in Egitto, HWV 17, Act 3: "Piangerò la sorte mia" (Cleopatra) [Arr. Pluhar]  - Christina Pluhar 
10 Kapsberger: Canario (Arr. Pluhar)  - Christina Pluhar 
11 Handel / Arr Pluhar: Alcina, HWV 34, Act 2: "Verdi prati" (Ruggiero) [Arr. Pluhar]  - Christina Pluhar 
12 Handel / Arr Pluhar: Il trionfo del Tempo e della Verità, HWV 46b, Part 2: "Tu del Ciel ministro eletto" (Belezza) [Arr. Pluhar]  - Christina Pluhar 
13 Handel: Alcina, HWV 34, Act 2: "Mi lusinga il dolce affetto" (Ruggiero) [Arr. Pluhar]  - Christina Pluhar 
14 Handel: Rinaldo, HWV 7, Act 2: "Lascia ch'io pianga" (Improvisations by Josep Maria Martí Duran and Turrisi)  - Christina Pluhar 
15 Handel: Serse, HWV 40, Act 1: "Ombra mai fu" (Serse)  - Christina Pluhar 

Copy tracklisting to the clipboard