Coward, Noel

Noel Coward - His HMV Recordings

CD (Number of discs: 4)
26 Feb 2016

Barcode: 0825646574940

In compiling this Noel Coward Archive from the HMV vaults, we have had two guiding principles: that the recordings, spanning 25 years, should be kept in their chronological order, despite the fact that Noel often recalled earlier scores while in a studio session so that the dates here bear very little resemblance to the dating of his original shows; and that, where there was a choice, we would go for Noel’s own solo recordings.

Thus, although Gertrude Lawrence, Yvonne Printemps and one or two others do make appearances here, we were going not for soundtrack or cast recordings but for the sound of Noel’s own voice. More than seventy of the eighty tracks here feature Noel singing his own songs: the rare exceptions include numbers by Cole Porter, Jerome Kern and Carroll Gibbons, and a speech by Clemence Dane which formed a part of his wartime troop concerts.

HMV documents reveal that Noel first went into one of their studios in August 1925 to record songs from On With The Dance including “Poor Little Rich Girl”. These were however rejected with a note indicating “voice too weak”, and it wasn’t until April 1928 that he returned to record “A Room With A View” at the start of an HMV contract which would continue uninterrupted even by war until June 1952. At that point, as 78s began to be replaced by LPs, he started to make recordings with other labels in Britain and the USA — where he was now at the start of a flourishing post-war cabaret and concert career — of which there are several “in performance”. The present recordings, however, are the original “Master’s discs”.

Audio sample & Tracklisting

Disc 1 
01 A Room With A View ("This Year Of Grace")  - Noel Coward 
02 Dance Little Lady  - Noel Coward 
03 Mary Make Believe ("This Year Of Grace")  - Noel Coward 
04 Try To Learn To Love  - Noel Coward 
05 Lorelei ("This Year Of Grace")  - Noel Coward 
06 Dream Is Over, The (Little Damozel)  - Noel Coward 
07 Zigeuner ("Bitter Sweet")  - Noel Coward 
08 World Weary  - Noel Coward 
09 Private Lives: a) Love Scene From Act 1 / b) Scene from Act 2  - Noel Coward 
10 Half Caste Woman (Cochran's 1931 Revue)  - Noel Coward 
11 Any Little Fish (Cochran's 1931 Revue)  - Noel Coward 
12 Cavalcade Prologue  - Noel Coward 
13 Cavalcade Vocal Selection Part I  - Noel Coward 
14 Lover Of My Dreams (Mirabelle Waltz)  - Noel Coward 
15 Cavalcade Vocal Selection Part 2  - Noel Coward 
16 Cavalcade Epilogue (Medley)  - Noel Coward 
17 Noel Coward Medley (Part 1)  - Noel Coward 
18 Noel Coward Medley (Part 2)  - Noel Coward 
Disc 2 
01 Let's Say Goodbye ("Words And Music")  - Noel Coward 
02 Party's Over Now, The ("Words And Music")  - Noel Coward 
03 Something To Do With Spring ("Words And Music")  - Noel Coward 
04 Mad Dogs And Englishmen ("Words And Music")  - Noel Coward 
05 I'll Follow My Secret Heart ("Conversation Piece")  - Noel Coward 
06 Melanie's Aria Part 1  - Yvonne Printemps 
07 Melanie's Aria Part 2  - Yvonne Printemps 
08 I Travel Alone  - Noel Coward 
09 Most Of Ev'ry Day  - Noel Coward 
10 Love In Bloom (From 'She Loves Me Not')  - Noel Coward 
11 Fare Thee Well (From 'Many Happy Returns')  - Noel Coward 
12 Mrs Worthington  - Noel Coward 
13 We Were So Young (Sweet Adeline)  - Noel Coward 
14 Then/Play Orchestra Play  - Gertrude Lawrence 
15 You Were There  - Gertrude Lawrence 
16 Has Anybody Seen Our Ship? ("Red Peppers")  - Noel Coward 
17 Men About Town ("Red Peppers")  - Noel Coward 
Disc 3 
01 Family Album  - Noel Coward 
02 Parisian Pierrot ("London Calling")  - Noel Coward 
03 We Were Dancing (Tonight At 8.30)  - Noel Coward 
04 Dearest Love  - Noel Coward 
05 Where Are The Songs We Sung? ("Operette")  - Noel Coward 
06 The Stately Homes Of England ("Operette")  - Noel Coward 
07 Gipsy Melody ("Operette")  - Noel Coward 
08 Dearest Love ("Operette")  - Noel Coward 
09 I'll See You Again ("Bitter Sweet")  - Noel Coward 
10 Just Let Me Look At You (Joy Of Living)  - Noel Coward 
11 Poor Little Rich Girl ("On With The Dance")  - Noel Coward 
12 London Pride  - Noel Coward 
13 The Last Time I Saw Paris  - Noel Coward 
14 Could You Please Oblige Us With A Bren Gun  - Noel Coward 
15 There Have Been Songs In England  - Noel Coward 
16 Imagine The Duchess's Feelings!  - Noel Coward 
17 It's Only You  - Noel Coward 
18 Don't Lets Be Beastly To The Germans  - Noel Coward 
19 The Welcoming Land  - Noel Coward 
20 I'm Old Fashioned  - Noel Coward 
21 You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To (Something To Shout About)  - Noel Coward 
Disc 4 
01 Sigh No More  - Noel Coward 
02 I Wonder What Happened To Him  - Noel Coward 
03 Matelot  - Noel Coward 
04 Nina  - Noel Coward 
05 Never Again  - Noel Coward 
06 Wait A Bit Joe  - Noel Coward 
07 Bright Was The Day ("Pacific 1860")  - Noel Coward 
08 This Is A Changing World ("Pacific 1860")  - Noel Coward 
09 His Excellency Regrets ("Pacific 1860")  - Noel Coward 
10 One Two Three ("Pacific 1860")  - Noel Coward 
11 Uncle Harry ("Pacific 1860")  - Noel Coward 
12 I Never Knew ("Pacific 1860")  - Noel Coward 
13 I Saw No Shadow ("Pacific 1860")  - Noel Coward 
14 Josephine ("Ace Of Clubs")  - Noel Coward 
15 Don't Make Fun Of The Fair (The Lyric Revue)  - Noel Coward 
16 Sail Away ("Ace Of Clubs")  - Noel Coward 
17 Medley Part I (I'll See You Again/Dance Little Lady/Poor Little Rich Girl/A Room With A View)  - Noel Coward 
18 Medley Part II (Any Little Fish/You Were There/Someday I'll Find You/I'll Follow My Secret Heart/If Love Were All/Play Orchestra Play  - Noel Coward 
19 Why Does Love Get In The Way ("Ace Of Clubs")  - Noel Coward 
20 I Like America ("Ace Of Clubs")  - Noel Coward 
21 Time And Again  - Noel Coward 
22 There Are Bad Times Just Around The Corner  - Noel Coward 

Copy tracklisting to the clipboard