Original Jackets

Tchaikovsky: Piano Concertos Nos. 1 & 2

16 Feb 2018

Barcode: 0190295738846

Composer: Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Other participants: Emil Gilels, Lorin Maazel, New Philharmonia Orchestra

"Any Gilels record is an event of the first magnitude," wrote Gramophone when these Tchaikovsky recordings originally appeared in 1973. In its words the Odessa-born pianist, "a stupendous lion of the keyboard", offered "artistry of the highest integrity." His insights in the much-loved Piano Concerto No 1 "evoked all the immediacy of a new discovery … The bravura is stirring, the lyricism melting [and] the over-riding impression is of playing of exciting authority and character (…) Maazel ensures that no detail of Tchaikovsky's lovely scoring is lost."