Jaroussky, Philippe

Vivaldi: Pietà - Sacred works

20 Oct 2014

Barcode: 0825646258109

Composer: Antonio Vivaldi
Other participants: Ensemble Artaserse

Philippe Jaroussky turns once again to the poignant meditation on grief that is the Stabat Mater — this time in Vivaldi’s searingly beautiful 1712 setting — along with a selection of the Red Priest’s solo motets and sacred works. But it’s not all solemn fare: Clarae stellae scintillate is an uplifting, light-filled motet in praise of Mary, and the sweet-toned ‘Domine Deus’ from the Gloria RV589 has an almost pastoral lilt. There are, of course, the vocal pyrotechnics characteristic in which Jaroussky excels, as in the blazing Alleluia of Longe mala, umbrae, terrores RV629. “After several recordings dedicated to lesser-known repertoire from composers such as J.C. Bach, Caldara and Porpora, I felt not only a musical need but also a physical yearning to return to Vivaldi,” says Jaroussky. “His famous Stabat Mater is one of the great masterpieces of the Baroque, but I also wanted to record the motet Longe mala, umbrae, terrores, a work I find utterly fascinating.” For Pietà Jaroussky reunites with Ensemble Artaserse, the chamber orchestra he founded in 2005, and almost a decade later he has come full circle, completing an important triptych of Vivaldi recital albums.

Audio sample & Tracklisting

Disc 1 
01 Clara stella e scintillate, RV 625: I. "Clarae scintillate"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
02 Clara stella e scintillate, RV 625: II. "Coeli repletiam"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
03 Clara stella e scintillate, RV 625: III. "Nunc iubilare"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
04 Clara stella e scintillate, RV 625: IV. "Alleluia"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
05 Vivaldi: Stabat Mater, RV 621: I. "Stabat Mater dolorosa"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
06 Vivaldi: Stabat Mater, RV 621: II. "Cuius animam gementem"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
07 Stabat Mater, RV 621: III. "O quam tristis "  - Philippe Jaroussky 
08 Stabat Mater, RV 621: IV. "Quis est homo"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
09 Stabat Mater, RV 621: V. "Quis non posset "  - Philippe Jaroussky 
10 Stabat Mater, RV 621: VI. "Pro peccatis"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
11 Stabat Mater, RV 621: VII. "Eja Mater"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
12 Stabat Mater, RV 621: VIII. "Fac ut ardeat"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
13 Stabat Mater, RV 621: IX. "Amen"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
14 Filliae maestae Jerusalem, RV 638: I. "Filliae maeste Jerusalem"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
15 Filliae maestae Jerusalem, RV 638: II. "Sileant Zephyri"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
16 Filliae maestae Jerusalem, RV 638: III. "Sed tenbris diffusis"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
17 Concerto in C Minor, RV 120: I. Allegro non molto  - Philippe Jaroussky 
18 Concerto in C Minor, RV 120: II. Largo  - Philippe Jaroussky 
19 Concerto in C Minor, RV 120: III. Allegro  - Philippe Jaroussky 
20 Gloria in D Major, RV 589: VI. Domine Deus  - Philippe Jaroussky 
21 Longe mala, umbrae, terrores, RV 629: I. "Longe mala, umbrae, terrores"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
22 Longe mala, umbrae, terrores, RV 629: II. "Recedite nubes et fulgura"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
23 Vivaldi: Longe mla, umbrae, terrores, RV 629: III. "Descende, o coeli vox"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
24 Vivaldi: Longe mala, umbrae, terrores, RV 629: IV. "Alleluia"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
25 Salve Regina in G Minor, RV 618: I. "Salve Regina"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
26 Salve Regina in G Minor, RV 618: II. "Ad te clamamus"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
27 Salve Regina in G Minor, RV 618: III. "Ad te suspiramus"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
28 Salve Regina in G Minor, RV 618: IV. "Eia ergo"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
29 Salve Regina in G Minor, RV 618: V. "Et Jesum benedictum"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
30 Salve Regina in G Minor, RV 618: VI. "O clemens"  - Philippe Jaroussky 
31 Sinfonia in C Major, RV 192: I. Allegro  - Philippe Jaroussky 
32 Sinfonia in C Major, RV 192: II. Largo  - Philippe Jaroussky 
33 Sinfonia in C Major, RV 192: III. Allegro  - Philippe Jaroussky 
34 Sinfonia in C Major, RV 192: IV. Allegro  - Philippe Jaroussky 

Copy tracklisting to the clipboard