Karajan, Herbert von

Orchestral Sectaculars from Handel to Bartok (1949 - 1960)

13 Compact Disc
2 Jun 2014

Barcode: 0825646336210

Other participants: Herbert von Karajan, Berliner Philharmoniker, Philharmonia Orchestra, Handel, Bartok

The Herbert von Karajan Collection is a series of 13 box sets containing official remasterings of the finest recordings he made for EMI between 1946 and 1984. These recordings, made between 1949 and 1960, take a richly varied musical tour of Europe. They feature both music closely identified with Karajan – such as the symphonies and tone poems of Sibelius and Debussy’s La Mer – and a treasure trove of more unexpected repertoire, such as works by Handel, Roussel, Respighi, Kodály, Vaughan Williams and Britten.