Karajan, Herbert von

Sibelius (1976-1981)

4 Compact Disc
2 Jun 2014

Barcode: 0825646336197

Composer: Jean Sibelius
Other participants: Herbert von Karajan, Berliner Philharmoniker, Jean Sibelius.

The Herbert von Karajan Collection is a series of 13 box sets containing official remasterings of the finest recordings he made for EMI between 1946 and 1984. In 1981, Gramophone wrote that “No living conductor has done more for the music of Sibelius than Herbert von Karajan.” In the five symphonies and five tone poems in this collection, Karajan, with the Berlin Philharmonic, explores its mysteries, unfolds its structures and releases its exhilarating power.