Münchner Philharmoniker

MAHLER Symphony No. 2 'Resurrection'

30 Sep 2016

Barcode: 0793052112042

Composer: Gustav Mahler
Other participants: Anne Schwanewilms · Olga Borodina · Valery Gergiev · Münchner Philharmoniker

“a spiritual experience … Gergiev’s conducting transformed this into a divine work”
Münchner Abendzeitung (DE) 21 September 2015, concert review

“A magnificent night … and a totally overwhelming experience … The Philharmonic Choir exceeded even the highest of expectations”
Münchner Merkur (DE) 21 September 2015, concert review

The first releases from the Munich Philharmonic’s own recording label feature sensational performances of works by two composers with whom the orchestra is closely associated: Gustav Mahler’s Symphony No. 2 and Anton Bruckner’s Symphony No. 4

Audio sample & Tracklisting

Disc 1 
01 Mahler: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, "Resurrection": I. Allegro maestoso - Mit durchaus ernstem, feierlichem Ausdruck  - Valery Gergiev 
02 Mahler: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, "Resurrection": II. Andante moderato - Sehr gemächlich, nie eilen  - Valery Gergiev 
03 Mahler: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, "Resurrection": III. In ruhig fießender Bewegung  - Valery Gergiev 
04 Mahler: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, "Resurrection": IV. Urlicht - Sehr feierlich, aber schlicht  - Valery Gergiev 
05 Mahler: Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, "Resurrection": V. Im Tempo des Scherzo, wild herausfahrend - langsam, misterioso  - Valery Gergiev 

Copy tracklisting to the clipboard