Carlo Maria Giulini - Concertos

Compact Disc (Number of discs: 9)
18 Nov 2013

Barcode: 5099943176120

Composer: Various

Treasured by orchestral players and soloists alike for his humility and sensitivity, Carlo Maria Giulini was a consummate accompanist; this set brings together his finest concerto recordings, featuring stellar soloists such as Claudio Arrau, Nathan Milstein and Mstislav Rostropovich. The collection showcases Giulini in some of the core German repertoire for which he was most revered, such as Brahms and Beethoven, but also demonstrates the scope of his musical interests – from Vivaldi’s Four Seasons (heard here in its first professional performance by Giulini) to Romantic and 20th-century masterpieces by the likes of Saint-Saëns, Dvorák and Prokofiev.