Tharaud, Alexandre

Autograph (Encores)

28 Oct 2013

Barcode: 5099940971223

After his intoxicating evocation of Jazz Age Paris with Le Boeuf sur le toit, French pianist Alexandre Tharaud again proves that good things come in small packages. This enticing collection of encore pieces – some very popular, others exotic – ranges across more than four centuries and comprises both original scores and arrangements.

This new album contains 23 pieces that make perfect encores at the end of a recital. Reflecting Tharaud’s varied tastes in music, it comprises both original pieces and arrangements by composers from the 17th century to the present day.

Among the most popular pieces in the collection are Chopin’s delightful Minute Waltz (D-flat major, Op. 64, No. 1), Satie’s enigmatic Gymnopédie No 3, Greig’s joyous Wedding Day at Troldhaugen and Rachmaninov’s brooding Prelude in C sharp minor. The works adapted for piano include a version of Sibelius’ Valse triste, Saint-Saëns’ Le Cygne in a virtuosic re-imagining by Leopold Godowsky, and the haunting B minor transcription of Bach’s Prelude BWV 855a by Alexander Siloti, who was both Rachmaninov’s teacher and his first cousin; the piece is particularly closely identified with the great Odessa-born pianist Emil Gilels. Tharaud’s own skills as an arranger are shown in his versions of pieces by Bach and Bizet.

Audio sample & Tracklisting

Disc 1 
01 Prelude in B minor (from the Notebook of Wilhelm Friedemann Bach)  - Alexandre Tharaud 
02 No. 3 Andante Moderato: Songs without words, Op.17  - Alexandre Tharaud 
03 Les Sauvages: Suite in G minor  - Alexandre Tharaud 
04 Dance of the blessed spirits  - Alexandre Tharaud 
05 Prelude in C sharp minor, Op. 3 No. 2  - Alexandre Tharaud 
06 Nocturne Op. 19 No. 4  - Alexandre Tharaud 
07 Wedding day in Troldhaugen  - Alexandre Tharaud 
08 Valse Triste, Op. 44 No. 1  - Alexandre Tharaud 
09 Prelude for the Left Hand, Op. 9 No. 1  - Alexandre Tharaud 
10 No. 2 Allegro leggiero in F sharp minor: Songs without words  - Alexandre Tharaud 
11 Waltz No. 6 in D flat major, Op. 64 No. 1  - Alexandre Tharaud 
12 The Dying Swan  - Alexandre Tharaud 
13 Le tic-toc-choc, ou Les maillotins: Troisième livre, 18ème ordre  - Alexandre Tharaud 
14 Feuillet d'album  - Alexandre Tharaud 
15 Sonata K141 in D minor  - Alexandre Tharaud 
16 III Adagietto: L'Arlésienne, suite de concert No. 1  - Alexandre Tharaud 
17 Adios a Cuba  - Alexandre Tharaud 
18 Tourbillon (d'aprés le Tourbillon de la vie de Georges Delerue)  - Alexandre Tharaud 
19 Mélancolie, FP 105  - Alexandre Tharaud 
20 El lago: Paisajes  - Alexandre Tharaud 
21 Valse lente  - Alexandre Tharaud 
22 III Lent et grave: 3 Gymnopédies  - Alexandre Tharaud 
23 Andante: Concerto BWV 979  - Alexandre Tharaud 

Copy tracklisting to the clipboard