Marriner, Sir Neville

The Essential Vaughan Williams Collection

5 May 2008

Barcode: 5099920799229

Composer: Ralph Vaughan Williams
Other participants: Dame Janet Baker * Ian Bostridge * David Daniels * King’s College Choir, Cambridge * Sir Adrian Boult * Sir John Barbirolli * Sir Neville Marriner * London Symphony Orchestra * New Philharmonia Orchestra * London Philharmonic Orchestra * a.o.

Audio sample & Tracklisting

Disc 1 
01 The Lark Ascending  - Hugh Bean/New Philharmonia Orchestra/Sir Adrian Bo 
02 Linden Lea - A Dorset song (1994 - Remaster)  - Dame Janet Baker/Gerald Moore 
03 Fantasia on 'Greensleeves' (2000 Digital Remaster)  - Sinfonia of London/Sir John Barbirolli 
04 Silent Noon (No. 2 of The House of Life)  - Ian Bostridge/Julius Drake 
05 I. March (Seventeen Come Sunday): English Folk Song Suite (arr. Gordon Jacob) (1987 - Remaster)  - London Symphony Orchestra/Sir Adrian Boult 
06 II. Intermezzo (My Bonny Boy): English Folk Song Suite (arr. Gordon Jacob) (1987 - Remaster)  - London Symphony Orchestra/Sir Adrian Boult 
07 III. March (Folk Songs from Somerset): English Folk Song Suite (arr. Gordon Jacob) (1987 - Remaster)  - London Symphony Orchestra/Sir Adrian Boult 
08 I. The Vagabond: Songs of Travel  - Anthony Rolfe Johnson/David Willison 
09 Serenade to Music (original version with 16 soloists)  - Norma Burrowes/Sheila Armstrong/Susan Longfield/Ma 
10 I. On Wenlock Edge: On Wenlock Edge (1987 Digital Remaster)  - Ian Partridge/Music Group of London 
11 2. Rhosymedre (melody by J. D. Edwards, 1805-1885) (orch. Arnold Foster): Three Preludes Founded on Welsh Hymn Tunes  - Academy of St Martin-in-the-Fields/Sir Neville Mar 
12 4. The Call [baritone only]: Five Mystical Songs  - John Shirley-Quirk/English Chamber Orchestra/Sir D 
13 Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis (2000 Digital Remaster)  - Sinfonia of London/Sir John Barbirolli 
Disc 2 
01 Overture: The Wasps - Aristophanic Suite  - London Philharmonic Orchestra/Sir Adrian Boult 
02 Loch Lomond (1995 Digital Remaster)  - London Madrigal Singers/Ian Partridge/Christopher 
03 Ca' the Yowes  - London Madrigal Singers/Ian Partridge/Christopher 
04 Five Variants of 'Dives and Lazarus'  - Jacques Orchestra/Sir David Willcocks 
05 O taste and see  - Ivan Sharpe/Winchester Cathedral Choir/James Lance 
06 : Pavane of the Sons of the Morning: Job - A Masque for Dancing, Scene VII  - London Symphony Orchestra/Sir Adrian Boult 
07 Bushes and Briars (men's voices)  - Baccholian Singers of London 
08 5. Wassail Song (transcr. for men's voices): Five English Folk Songs  - Baccholian Singers of London 
09 For all the saints (Sine nomine)  - York Minster Choir 
10 The Truth from Above  - Choir of King's College, Cambridge/Sir David Willc 
11 O little town of Bethlehem (v.3 arr. Ledger)  - Choir of King's College, Cambridge/Francis Grier/S 
12 5. The Lamb: Ten Blake Songs  - Ian Partridge/Janet Craxton 
13 II. Scherzo (Moderato): Sinfonia antartica  - Norma Burrowes/London Philharmonic Choir/London Ph 
14 Orpheus with his lute (first setting)  - David Daniels/Martin Katz 
15 Kyrie: Mass in G minor  - John Eaton/Nigel Perrin/Robin Doveton/David van As 
16 V. Choral: The blessed son of God: Hodie - A Christmas Cantata  - Bach Choir/Sir David Willcocks 
17 Come down, O Love divine (Down Ampney)  - Choir of King's College, Cambridge/Thomas Williams 
18 All people that on earth do dwell (The Old Hundredth)  - Choir of King's College, Cambridge/The Wallace Col 

Copy tracklisting to the clipboard