Menuhin, Yehudi

Essential Relaxing Classics

2 Compact Disc
5 Jul 2010

Barcode: 5099962793025

Composer: J.S. Bach, Pachelebel, Mozart, Beethoven...
Other participants: Yehudi Menuhin * Han-Na Chang * Martha Argerich * Julian Bream * Jacqueline du Pré * a.o.

Audio sample & Tracklisting

Disc 1 
01 Cantata No. 208 'Sheep may safely graze' (arr. Marinner)  - Academy of St. Martin-in-the-Fields/Ian Watson/Sir 
02 Canon in D (1997 - Remaster)  - Academy of St. Martin-in-the-Fields/Sir Neville Ma 
03 II. Adagio: Konzert für Klarinette und Orchester A-dur KV 622 · Rekonstruierte Fassung für Bassettklarinette  - Sabine Meyer/Staatskapelle Dresden/Hans Vonk 
04 I. Adagio sostenuto (Excerpt): Piano Sonata No. 14 in C-Sharp Minor, Op.27 No. 2, ''Moonlight''  - Dame Moura Lympany 
05 II. Largo: The Four Seasons, Concerto No. 4 in F Minor, RV 297 'L'inverno/Winter' (Op.8 No. 4)  - Yehudi Menuhin/Camerata Lysy Gstaad/Alberto Lysy 
06 II. Andantino: Flute and Harp Concerto in C, K.299  - Herbert von Karajan/James Galway/Fritz Helmis/Berl 
07 Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis (opening) (1985 Digital Remaster)  - London Philharmonic Orchestra/Sir Adrian Boult 
08 II. Adagio sostenuto (excerpt): Piano Concerto No.2 in C Minor, Op.18  - Cécile Ousset/Sir Simon Rattle/City of Birmingham 
09 III. Adagio: Cello Concerto in E Minor, Op.85 (1997 - Remaster)  - Jacqueline du Pré/London Symphony Orchestra/Sir Jo 
10 Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, Op.95 'From the New World' - II. Largo (opening)  - Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra/Mariss Jansons 
11 The Lark Ascending (opening) (1987 - Remaster)  - Hugh Bean/New Philharmonia Orchestra/Sir Adrian Bo 
12 Adagio From The Piano Concerto No.5 In E Flat Major. Op.73 ''The Emperor''  - Julia Thornton 
13 Violin Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, Op.26 - II. Adagio (opening) (1997 - Remaster)  - Yehudi Menuhin/Philharmonia Orchestra/Walter Sussk 
14 IX. Nimrod: Variations on an Original Theme, Op.36 'Enigma' (1986 Digital Remaster)  - London Symphony Orchestra/Sir Adrian Boult 
15 Romance from the Gadfly  - Tasmin Little/Piers Lane 
16 V. Allegretto (Shepherds' Hymn): Symphony No. 6 in F, Op.68 'Pastoral'  - Philadelphia Orchestra/Riccardo Muti 
Disc 2 
01 Air: Suite No. 3 in D Major, BWV 1068 (1997 Digital Remaster)  - Sir Neville Marriner/Academy of St. Martin-in-the- 
02 Adagio in G Minor (Excerpt) (1986 - Remaster)  - Academy of St. Martin-in-the-Fields/Sir Neville Ma 
03 II. Andante (excerpt): Piano Concerto No. 21 in C, K.467 'Elvira Madigan'  - Stephen Hough/Hallé Orchestra/Bryden Thomson 
04 Gabriel's Oboe  - Ennio Morricone 
05 Prelude (Morning): Peer Gynt  - Academy of St. Martin-in-the-Fields/Sir Neville Ma 
06 1. Lent et douloureux: Trois Gymnopédies  - Anne Queffélec 
07 Clair de lune (transcr. Stokowski): Suite bergamasque  - Philadelphia Orchestra/Wolfgang Sawallisch 
08 Variation XVIII (Andante cantabile, a tempo vivace): Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini, Op.43  - Cécile Ousset/City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestr 
09 Adagio - Opening: Concierto de Aranjuez  - Julian Bream/Sir Simon Rattle/City of Birmingham S 
10 II. Adagio: Piano Concerto in A Minor, Op.16  - Cécile Ousset/London Symphony Orchestra/Sir Nevill 
11 II. Andante (excerpt): Violin Concerto in E Minor, Op.64 (1997 Digital Remaster)  - Yehudi Menuhin/Philharmonia Orchestra/Efrem Kurtz 
12 II. Romance: Larghetto: Piano Concerto No.1 in E Minor, Op.11  - Martha Argerich/Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal/ 
13 Intermezzo: Cavalleria Rusticana (1987 - Remaster)  - Philharmonia Orchestra/Riccardo Muti 
14 Adagio Cantabile): 'Pathétique' Sonata (Op. 13 - II  - Miklos Rozsa 
15 Dance of the Blessed Spirits (from Orfeo ed Euridice)  - Riccardo Muti/Philharmonia Orchestra 
16 No.1: Lent: Six Gnossiennes  - Anne Queffélec 
17 The Swan (Le Cygne)  - Han-Na Chang/Leonard Slatkin/Philharmonia Orchestr 
18 IV. Adagietto (conclusion) (1988 Digital Remaster): Symphony No. 5 in C Sharp Minor  - New Philharmonia Orchestra/Sir John Barbirolli 
19 Méditation: Thaïs  - Hans Kalafusz/Sir Neville Marriner 

Copy tracklisting to the clipboard