Koopman, Ton

Buxtehude: Cantatas - Monteverdi: Vespro della beata vergine

26 Jan 2015

Barcode: 0825646195190

Composer: Buxtehude

By 1683 Buxtehude – who had a huge influence on the young Johann Sebastian Bach – had established an annual concert series which was held over five Sundays late in Trinity and Advent. These Abendmusik concerts, which were given following the afternoon vespers services, offered a leisurely succession of ‘pleasant vocal and instrumental music’. The twelve works heard here offer a colourful overview of Buxtehude’s wide-ranging approach to scoring, structure and style in which the full measure of Ton Koopman and his Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra’s talent leads to a unique achievement.

Audio sample & Tracklisting

Disc 1 
01 Buxtehude: Frohlocket mit Händen, BuxWV 29  - Ton Koopman 
02 Buxtehude: Mein Gemüt erfreuet sich, BuxWV 72  - Ton Koopman 
03 Buxtehude: Jesu dulcis memoria, BuxWV 56  - Ton Koopman 
04 Buxtehude: Ich bin die Auferstehung und das Leben, BuxWV 44  - Ton Koopman 
05 Buxtehude: Cantate Domino canticum novum, BuxWV 12  - Ton Koopman 
06 Buxtehude: Heut triumphieret Gottes Sohn, BuxWV 43  - Ton Koopman 
Disc 2 
01 Buxtehude: Jesu, meines Lebens Leben, BuxWV 62  - Ton Koopman 
02 Buxtehude: Gott fähret auf mit Jauchzen, BuxWV 33  - Ton Koopman 
03 Buxtehude: An filius non est Dei, BuxWV 6  - Ton Koopman 
04 Buxtehude: Jubilate Domino, BuxWV 64  - Ton Koopman 
05 Buxtehude: In dulci jubilo, BuxWV 52  - Ton Koopman 
06 Buxtehude: Wie wird erneuet, wie wird erfreuet, BuxWV 110  - Ton Koopman 

Copy tracklisting to the clipboard