July 06, 2017

Diana Damrau, Bryan Hymel & brothers Capuçon to perform under the Eiffel Tower

A spectacular cast conducted by Maestro Gergiev for France's 14 July celebrations, broadcast to millions.
Who needs fireworks when you have the finest French and international classical stars performing under the Eiffel Tower in front of a broadcast audience of millions?
At 9pm at the Champs de Mars, France's spectacular Concert de Paris for the national celebrations of 14 July will boast a starry line-up worthy of this major annual event.
German coloratura soprano Diana Damrau sings Gounod's Je veux vivre from Roméo et Juliette, as well as Richard Strauss' exquisite Morgen, the latter accompanied by Renaud Capuçon's sublime violin obbligato.
Renaud has the ideal partner in the Brahms Double Concerto with his brother, Gautier Capuçon, on cello.
Recently in town to sing the role of Don José in Bizet's Carmen at the Opéra de Paris, American tenor Bryan Hymel presents great moments from Puccini, Verdi and Leoncavallo.
All this with maestro Valery Gergiev and the Orchestra National de France, broadcast live to a televised audience of millions on France2 and internationally.
"It's a unique event in all the world...We will be celebrating the Fête Nationale; it's a moment of coming together which is even more necessary given the dangers we face today. Nothing is more beautiful than to be united by music," Gautier Capuçon told Télé 7 Jours.
"Playing in the 2013 Concert de Paris was an unforgettable experience, performing with my brother will be a family reunion like no other!" added Renaud.
The concert will close with all the performers singing the Marseillaise national anthem. And fireworks. Lots of fireworks.
Full Programme:
  • Berlioz – La Damnation de Faust : Marche Hongroise / Orchestre seul
  • Puccini – Gianni Schicchi « O mio babbino caro » / Nadine Sierra
  • Verdi – Rigoletto « La donna è mobile » / Bryan Hymel
  • Prokofiev – Roméo et Juliette « Danse des Chevaliers » / Orchestre seul
  • Mozart - Don Giovanni « Deh vieni alla finestra » / Ludovic Tézier
  • Mozart - Don Giovanni « Fin ch’han dal vino » / Ludovic Tézier
  • Gounod – Roméo & Juliette : « Je veux vivre» / Diana Damrau
  • Rimsky-Korsakov – La Fiancée du Tsar « La chanson du houblon» / Orchestre + chœur
  • Gounod – Sapho « O ma lyre immortelle » / Anita Rachvelishvili
  • Brahms – double concerto « Vivace non troppo (3ème mvt) » / G.& R. Capuçon
  • Kabalevsky / A. Cottee – «Bonne Nuit» / Maîtrise de RF
  • Leoncavallo – Pagliacci «Vesti la Giubba » / Bryan Hymel
  • Chostakovitch – Suite de Jazz n°2 « Valse n°2 » / Orchestre seul
  • Delibes – Lakmé «Duo des fleurs » / Nadine Sierra + Anita Rachvelishvili
  • R. Strauss – Morgen / D. Damrau + R. Capuçon
  • Vangelis / Don Rose – « Les Chariots de feu »(version pour piano et orchestre ) / Orchestre seul
  • Puccini – La Bohème « O soave fanciulla » / Nadine Sierra + Bryan Hymel
  • Moussorgsky / Ravel – Les Tableaux d’une exposition « la grande porte de Kiev » / Orchestre seul
  • Verdi – Don Carlo «E lui !... desso ! ...» / B.Hymel + L.Tézier + Choeur RF
  • Bizet - Carmen «Les voici la quadrille ! » / Orchestre + chœur + Maîtrise
  • Berlioz/ Rouget de Lisle – La Marseillaise (couplet n°1 * 2) 

Diana Damrau : soprano
Nadine Sierra : soprano
Anita Rachvelishvili : mezzo-soprano
Bryan Hymel : tenor
Ludovic Tézier : baritone 
Renaud Capuçon : violin
Gautier Capuçon : cello

Maîtrise de Radio France Chœur de Radio France
Sofi Jeannin : choral direction

Orchestre National de France
Valery Gergiev : direction
Christian Knapp : chief assistant